I wanted to find out whether or not modifying the sequence of workflows (specifically ORDLINE) would affect pre-existing Work orders. I was going to add in a step after ‘in process’ but before ‘completed’…
@regisphilbin - It shouldnt affect past work orders’ workflow history, no. Should be safe.
What about current, live Work Orders? If i re-sequence the order number within the workflow states, does the actual “State” or “Order Num” stay with the Work order?
I would be nervous to delete or re-sequence workflow states. Generally speaking, it’s safe to add workflow states, but if you are deleting or re-sequencing, you may end up with orphaned data, or work orders with history or current status in states that no longer exist.
If you end up in a pickle and need data repair assistance, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org and we can create a case file for you.